It’s been emotional….

My clothes are an eensy bit tighter than I’d like them to be at the moment. This possibly has something to do with the fact that I’ve been eating absolute crap, and that my exercise regime is limited to walking the puppy by the canal. Also, like a lot of people, I eat when I’m bored – & being at home on my own all day, I’m a lot more bored than I used to be.

I want the perfect beach bum!

Now, before I get told off or accused of being body dismorphic – I am NOT saying I’m overweight, or that I’m about to embark on a fad diet. I’m a healthy size 10, have never been a fan of dieting, and besides, I like cake and cheeseburgers too much to deprive myself completely. I do, however, have to face up to the reality that in 2 weeks, I will be prancing around on a beach with very little on, and my bottom would definitely benefit from getting to know lettuce a little better.

So I was really interested when a new product from Bach, the makers of (in my humble opinion) the miraculous Rescue Remedy landed on my doormat. It’s called the “Emotional Eating Support Kit” and contains 3 x 10ml dropper bottles of Bach Original Flower Essences – Crab Apple, Cherry Plum and Chestnut Bud. Rescue Remedy

A quick pop quiz showed that almost all of my girlfriends change their eating patterns according to their mood. Some eat more when they’re bored, some when stressed, some when upset. While none of us believe it to be a problem, we all recognise that it happens and would like to eat more consistently, and avoid the junk food binges after we’ve been dumped, or the ice cream feast after a bad day at the office. 

I cook a lot for myself and The Roomy, but I am very guilty of snacking when my mind is not occupied, and late at night. Whilst the meals I cook are usually balanced and healthy, my grazing is not. Cheese, crisps and toast are my weaknesses – and I am very rarely actually hungry when I decide to dig in. The truth is, I genuinely can’t remember the last day I didn’t raid the cupboards mid-morning or at 10pm.

So. I had high hopes for this new kit – I have always found Rescue Remedy to be hugely effective, and have a basic understanding of how Bachs flower remedies work. The package arrived on Saturday morning, usually a day I’d happily much my way through, and I decided to put it to the test straight away.

The instructions are really easy, and if you have ever taken Rescue Remedy you’ll know what to do. Simply put two drops of the liquid straight onto your tongue up to 4 times a day, or dilute in some water and sip away. You can either stick to the same “flavour” or mix and match according to your mood.

The remedies are meant to work by stimulating the body’s own capacity to heal itself, balancing negative feelings, helping you to take control, feel good about yourself, and get more out of life. The Emotional Eating kit is made up of 3 specially selected remedies that should help us when dieting or embarking on a healthy eating regime, by keeping our feelings in check.

Crab Apple (Malus pumila) – When you feel unclean or dislike something about yourself, Crab Apple helps you accept yourself and your imperfections.

Cherry Plum (Prunus cerasifera)– When you fear you might lose control of your diet, Cherry Plum can help you to think and act rationally. 

Chestnut Bud (Aesculus hippocastanum)– When you find yourself repeating the same dieting mistakes, Chestnut Bud helps you gain knowledge from your experience.

I started out with Crab Apple, just because the description amused me. I felt no immediate effect, and happily tuckedinto my mini shredded wheat for breakfast. I took 2 drops of each of the other two remedies at intervals later on in the day, and by night time, I have to admit I was impressed. I had made it through the entire day without snacking, or even thinking about snacking! What’s more, I’d eaten so healthily I wondered if I was even a little bit ill…for lunch I had a simple salad with a home made balsamic dressing, and for dinner, grilled chicken breast wrap with even more salad. Odd for me, to say the least. I normally crave at least one treat of some kind a day.

Salad has never left me full - until now...

The Boy was convinced it was a subconscious thing and wouldn’t last. I was kind of with him on that, as it all seemed just that little bit too good to be true…Something was telling me that once I settled into a routine I would slip back to having a pack of crisps between meals or a sneaky cake or two. I knew my will power alone wouldn’t hold up as I am notoriously rubbish at restraint, especially when it comes to food!

So, it’s now Thursday and I’ve been taking the Remedies every day. There is good news my lovely munching friends. I have not succumb to the treats cupboard at all. Not one biscuit, crisp or fizzy drink has made its way to my mouth. Every meal I have had has been balanced, healthy, good for me and bloody tasty too.  OK, so I’ll admit, The Boy and I did laze about in bed all day on Monday eating pizza, but it was planned and I allowed myself one cheeky sneak day seeing as it was a Bank Holiday and all that….

The Emotional Eating Support KitThe best news is that I feel really good. The lack of a daily junk food injection is definitely making me feel “cleaner”, I am in a lovely mood, and I like it. I just weighed myself and I have lost 2 pounds since Saturday – my exercise routine is still non-existent so it is purely down to what I have been eating. Whilst 2 pounds isn’t a huge deal – it’s not at all shabby for 5 days, no effort, and one large pizza!

I’m going to continue taking my drops until my holiday, and will give a brief weekly update to let you know if it really does still work, or if I slip back into my naughty little ways. However, if the results so far are anything to go by, I would recommend The Emotional Eating Kit to anyone who has a tendency to pick, snack, graze, gorge, or who just wants to feel a little bit more balanced when it comes to food. As far as I know, its the only product on the market that aims specifically at those of us whose eating habits are linked to their mood – and at £9.99 its not going to break the bank. After all, that’s only the equivalent of 4 Burger King Cheeseburger meals from Euston, so can’t be bad at all!

~ by This Little Lady on May 28, 2009.

One Response to “It’s been emotional….”

  1. […] been emotional…. « This Little Lady Went To London unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThere will be regional food tastings, […]

Leave a Reply

 
