Girl Crush…

Urban Dictionary Definition:  “feelings of admiration and adoration which a girl has for another girl, without wanting to shag said girl. Nonsexual attraction, usually based on veneration at some level.”

I am very much in love with The Boy. In fact, I think The Boy is smashing. I like the way he looks. I like to perv a bit when he gets out of the shower and doesn’t know I can see. And most of all, I really, really like having sex with him, and wouldn’t mind doing so every day for the rest of my life. So I’m pretty sure that I’m not actually a raging lesbian. Not that there is anything wrong with being a raging lesbian. Some of my best friends are raging lesbians and I love them dearly. I just don’t want to have sex with them. I want to have sex with him.

OK. Now that’s cleared up, I have something to get off my chest. I have girly crushes. Lots of them. I think girls ROCK. Not the bitchy, silly, playground type girls who live in a “he said, she said” kind of world. No No. They can bitch their way back to the bike sheds as far as I’m concerned, no time for that nonsense. No. I mean the bad-ass, sexy, bedhead girls who rock a look that’s part charity shop/part catwalk, marry men who play guitar, look like they drink straight from the bottle at after parties and who aren’t relying on anyone else to get them where they want to be.

AngelinaIt all started with Angelina back in the day. Before Brad and their 27 kids, before the Goodwill stuff, before she cleaned up her act. There was something about the rawness of her, the vulnerability, the strangeness, that just intrigued me. She was angry and broken and struggling and beautiful and strong and I found it fascinating.

“I don’t believe in guilt, I believe in living on impulse as long as you never intentionally hurt another person, and don’t judge people in your life. I think you should live completely free.” – Angelina Jolie

Kate MossThen it was all about Kate. Ahhhh, lovely little Kate from Croydon. All messed up and a little bit funny looking but oh so very stylish. Some of my favourite ever fashion shots are of Miss Moss, and come on, she bagged Johnny Depp (I wonder if he dressed up as a pirate?). Kate Moss is my all time favourite model – a fashion icon, one of the most recognisable faces of our generation. Yes she makes mistakes. But that’s what makes her so bloody brilliant.Kate Moss

“My mum used to say to me, ‘you can’t have fun all the time,’ and I used to say, ‘why not? Why the fuck can’t I have fun all the time?” Kate Moss

Kate shared centre stage with Jade Jagger for a while, but they’re friends again these days so Jade JaggerI don’t think they minded. Daughter of a Rolling Stone, Goat owner, Ibiza lover and founder of Jezebel? So cool she must be freezing.

And for now, it’s the newest rock kid on the block, the ever lovely Daisy Lowe. She’s young, kooky and refreshingly different. I love that she challenges the industry norm of stick thin models and says what she thinks – openly admitting she doesn’t know it all, that it’s hard growing up in the public eye and that she gets it wrong sometimes. We all do love. Giving up on Mark Ronson and following her heart back to true love Will Cameron? Good girl. Vivienne Westwood described Daisy as “a bombshell” and who are we to argue? VW is God!Daisy Lowe

“My parents don’t have loads of money. I’ve been looking after myself, paying my own way since I was 17. I’ve worked for every penny I’ve ever earned.” Daisy Lowe

 

Daisy LoweSo yes, I think these women are fabulous, sexy, fascinating, gorgeous and pretty damn marvelous actually. They are the beautiful and damned. But no, I do not want to have sex with them, get their phone numbers or even meet them. In fact, I think I’d hate to in case they weren’t quite so interesting in real life.

I think its nice for us girls to appreciate other girls, and like what they’re doing. I may not want to carry The Boys blood in a vial around my neck like Angelina did with Billy Bob, or hang out with Pete and get thrown in rehab like Kate, but I wouldn’t mind looking half as fabulous!

Looking at my little list, I notice they all show similar characteristics. Feisty, strong, wild, troubled, free. None of them are perfect, and none claim to be. They are girls who come from different backgrounds but are all going in the same direction and won’t let anything stop that – not broken hearts, drug scandals, family troubles or tabloid attacks. I like it. 

There’s enough bitching in this world. Time to show some girly love x

~ by This Little Lady on June 9, 2009.

6 Responses to “Girl Crush…”

  1. Hey, great article! Really interesting to hear the perspective of someone with a confident self assured and positive voice!

    PS – Check out Active Resistance if you love Vivienne Westwood!

  2. wow i totally relate to the whole girl crush thing, keep blogging this was good =]

  3. I am also guilty of girly crushes.. and just like you, I think i’m attracted to them for the same reasons. And to quote you, ” In fact, I think I’d hate to in case they weren’t quite so interesting in real life.”

    So I just look. It’s a lot of fun actually =)

  4. So good to know I’m not alone on this one!! Bring on the girly love 🙂 x

  5. Not alone at all! My girl crushes are Natalie Portman and Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, great post!

Leave a Reply

 
