Pack it in….

I’m sitting here staring at a huge, lime green monstrosity. It’s taking up a large proportion of my incredibly big bedroom and its a little bit scary. The Puppy keeps sniffing at it nervously and then running away. The Roomy has refused to help. The Boy is at work. I’m all alone.

Guess it’s time I got on with it.

The Bestie was kind enough to lend me her luggage for the forthcoming Koh Samui trip. You see, I tend to travel light when I go to Ibiza with only hand luggage, and leave the essentials over there. Makes more sense than lugging it back and forward when my back is so bad. When I went away earlier in the year I used the Roomys case, but she’s rather carelessly lent that to someone else right now.

So, the lime green monster it shall have to be. As The Boy pointed out when he saw it – at least it won’t get lost.

Now, I’m not very good at phase one of packing, i.e. the choosing what to take bit. (Exhibit A). I’m absolutely fine when it comes to folding, rolling, tucking in and protecting. That’s all fine. It’s this first bit that gets me every time.Exhibit A

You see, I am not a person who could ever be accused of being a planner. Spontaneous, impulsive, reckless maybe…but never a planner! So as I have absolutely no idea what kind of mood I’ll be in one day to the next, how on earth am I possibly meant to decide what to wear 2 weeks in advance?! I have different looks for different moods – rocky, boho, classic, beach bum – so it could all go horribly wrong. What if I pack too many pretty little sundresses if I want to go all surfer-chic? What if I take cut off shorts and funky vest tops and I want to go out to dinner looking like Audrey Hepburn? Oh the dramas that could unfold….

The Boy has a simple solution for this. Stop buying so many clothes. Haha. Funny isn’t he? Why would I do such a thing? Clothes are pretty.

He, of course, is already organised & packed. He has 10 t-shirts, 5 pairs of shorts, 2 pairs of jeans and a couple of other bits. Done. So easy to be a boy.

On my floor, waiting to go into the monster, I currently have 22 dresses, 8 pairs of shorts, 1 pair of jeans, 2 pairs of linen trousers, 6 skirts, 3 cardigans, 2 jackets, 6 bikinis, 1 jumper, 19 tops and 7 pairs of shoes. Add to that my hairdryer, straighteners, sunglasses, cosmetic, toiletries, jewellery, handbags & iPhone speaker and my bag may be a little bit on the heavy side. Will have to remind The Boy that he promised faithfully to carry luggage at all times.

Please close!I know, I know, a cull is necessary, if only so the bloody thing will close. I must remember that I am not Victoria Beckham with her stacks of Louis Vuitton and 7 men paid annually purely to carry her bags around after her. I am merely a Little Lady with a nice man who has offered to save her the pain and carry the monster, simply because he’s marvellous. Must not take advantage.

But where to start?! I like all my clothes! I couldn’t possible be without that gorgeous ASOS maxi-dress, or these cute little denim Diesel shorts. I have to take the gladiators, and the flip flops, and I need these tops to go with that, and that skirt to go with this….

Oh the dilemmas. Luckily, I have 2 days left to get it down to the bare necessities for 15 days in the sunshine (with only a risk of tropical storms.)

Suppose I’d better get on with it – as the next task is sorting out the beach tunes. After all this action, I think I’m going to need a holiday.

x

~ by This Little Lady on June 10, 2009.

2 Responses to “Pack it in….”

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    http://ovarianpain.net

Leave a Reply

 
