London, Paris, NYC….

I bloody love clothes. I’m quite pleased they’re an essential part of our society really, as I wouldn’t be at all happy if I didn’t have the opportunity to lust over the AW09 collections from the recent catwalk shows in NYC, London, Paris and Milan. And my oh my weren’t they pretty?!

3.1 Phillip Lim3.1 Phillip Lim

In New York, I was blown away by 3.1 Phillip Lim. It’s rare for me to put an entire designers look book on my wish list, but this collection hit the mark with every single piece. Floaty dresses mix well with fitted jackets, and shaggy sheepskins sit side by side with shiny sequins. Beautiful. I’d consider selling a kidney to fund a shopping spree, but I suspect my drug-addled organs aren’t worth that much. Hmph.

Phillip LimPhillip LimPhillip LimPhillip Lim

Alexander Wang

Alexander WangAlexander Wang also got me a little bit hot under the collar with a few key garments, mixing it up with sharp tailored shoulders and cut out detailing. Think hard edged, kick ass, sexy glamour. Love it. Or most of it anyway. Sir Philip Green sat on the front row at the show too – so maybe a Top Shop collaboration could be on the cards?! We can but hope…

In London, Marios Schwabs form-fitting, thigh skimming dresses bought some bold splashes of colour and crazy patterns to the party. The addition of Swarovski crystals and cage shoes made it extra special.Christopher KaneMarios SchwabChristopher Kane also had a couple of gorgeous, ultra-wearable pieces that I loved – including Planet of the Apes inspired Gorilla T’s…and others that faded into the “I’m not overly interested” category. Sorry.

Over in gay Paris, Balmains 80’s inspired collection was spectacular. The models rocked OTT shoulder pads, sequins and leather and pulled off the sexy rock chick look with minimal effort. Sure it’s a teensy bit familiar and what we’ve come to expect from Christophe Decarnin, and maybe it’s a formula that could need tweaking in the near future. But right now? It works. Make up and hair were kept simple to let the strength of the clothes do the talking. And talk they did. So very cool.

BalmainBalmainBalmainBalmain

Now, who’d like to finance my trip to Bond Street so I can go buy it all…these clothes need me Goddammit!

~ by This Little Lady on July 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
