Powerful…

Just took a few minutes out to look at the great site SOTM, which often gives me food for though or a little giggle, and was struck by todays image. To me, it’s incredibly sad & reminded me of the profound effect words can have on our lives…

SOTMTaken from: SomeoneOnceToldMe.com

675Chloe White sent this in from Rochester NH, USA. It’s one of the most powerful SOTM shots to date, a remarkable image and one I can’t look at for too long. She wrote: “I was going through a tough time i eighth grade. I was the one everyone picked on. This girl; anytime she saw me would always tell me, ‘You have no friends,’ or ‘Nobody likes you.’ and I believed it.”

That makes me sad and reminded me of a quote by Dale Carnegie;

“You have it easily in your power to increase the sum total of this world’s happiness now. How? By giving a few words of sincere appreciation to someone who is lonely or discouraged. Perhaps you will forget tomorrow the kind words you say today, but the recipient may cherish them over a lifetime.”

x


~ by This Little Lady on July 13, 2009.

One Response to “Powerful…”

  1. LOADS of things make me smile. For example, winning the arm rest in the cinema, the first scoop out of an ice cream container, watching a waiter bring my food over to the table, fresh fashion magazines… the list goes on and on!

Leave a Reply

 
