A Love Affair With London…

I Love London.

I know that’s stating the obvious. My Twitter name is Love_London. I write about London all the time. I do my best to keep you up to date with the best parties, events, and general goings on that are happening in this bloody marvellous little town.

Highbury & IslingtonBut there’s one bit of London I love best.

Islington.

Every time I walk out of Highbury & Islington station I feel like I just got home…which I suppose in a funny little way I am. My Daddy was born and bred in Islington and I had my own little lovely place there for a few years. Like anywhere…It’s best when it’s sunny of course – but even when it’s wet, grey and miserable, it makes me happy.

I can mooch around Upper Street for hours…browsing in boutiques…gazing longingly into the window of Ottolenghi…drinking coffee outside cafes and just watching the world go by.

I love the diversity of the area. I love the sight of weddings in the Town Hall, the greenness of the parks, the noises, the sounds. I dream of living in one of the huge townhouses. I need more of the farmers market in my life. I wish I could afford all of the clothes in the quirky shop windows. I love the bars, the restaurants, the people, the oddness. I miss my little flat and wish I’d never been silly enough to leave.

So, I have informed the boy, I’m going back. I’ve been looking for a new flat for ages but today clinched it for me. I’m heading back to N1…and quite frankly….I can’t wait!

surfing 002Diverse ClothingOttolenghi IslingtonThe AngelicMorgan MCamden Passage

~ by This Little Lady on August 11, 2009.

2 Responses to “A Love Affair With London…”

  1. ahhhhhhhhhhhh Islington… Camden is to me what Islington is to you… BUT… Islington is my second favourite place in London… love love love… that’s all you need really, a love of something or someone and you’re pretty much set!

  2. Yay for North London and Yay for love!

Leave a Reply

 
