What a lot of bottom…

….And I mean that in the nicest possible sense!

I didn’t really know what to expect from the private screening of City Rats that I was kindly invited to by the lovely guys at Cisco and Axicom on Wednesday. I knew we would be watching the film in a rather swanky screening room, I knew there would be wine, and I knew it was a Brit-Flick starring Danny Dyer and his on-screen partner in crime Tamer Hassan…but other than that? I knew nothing.

I’d read a couple of iffy reviews, but I rarely listen to critics. As a HUGE fan of The Business, I was looking forward to seeing the two actors team up again…although the film itself could not have been more different.

In City Rats, there are no glamorous locations; no lazing about in the pool, no fancy cars and certainly no luxury villas in Spain. Oh no. This time round we are shown the harsh, seedy side of London – the bleaker aspect to this city that I love so much.

This low budget film is based around 8 characters, whose lives are intertwined in the most unpleasant  of ways. It covers a whole host of challenging subjects – from gangland murders to autism, and prostitution to homosexuality. It’s dark, it’s gritty, it’s twisted – and there are a lot of naked bottoms.

And do you know what?

We really enjoyed it. In parts I laughed out loud – at others I covered my face in my hands and groaned (loudly). It’s unpredictable, humorous and sad all at the same time, and it surprised me, in a good way. So much so I’ll be buying it on DVD – although (unsuccessfully) trying to work out what would happen was one of the best bits.

tamer hassanNow – it’s not a first date movie, and I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it if you need cheering up when you’re feeling a bit down. But it’s a good watch, with some fab lines and some hugely unexpected twists and turns.

I really liked it.

We also liked the Soho Hotel, a lot. The cinema seats were like big cosy armchairs, the hospitality from both the Hotel and the guys from Cisco and Axicom was amazing, and the food was delicious….

…as it has to be said, was the lovely Tamer Hassan himself. It was a bloody nice surprise for us all when he showed up at the end of the screening for a Q&A session (and more than a few cocktails afterwards!) He’s a very funny man – and I’m sure The Boy won’t mind me mentioning the fact he’s blinking sexy too 🙂

Before I got a little bit too drunken, and took some rather cute pictures of the gorgeous Tamers bottom, we had an awesome chat about his next movie – which sounds like it’s going to be a little bit special. With an amazing cast and a full on crew, I’m excited to see the finished product, Dead Man Running, which comes out on 24th October.

So, here’s a little preview of the plot for you gorgeous lot.

Nick Kane (Tamer Hassan) is a reformed ex-con who has only 24 hours to come up with £100k, which he owes to the nasty Mr Thigo – a New York Gangster who’s out to make an example of late paying punters. To help ensure he gets his money…Thigo kidnaps Nick’s streetwise but wheelchair bound mum (Brenda Blethin) so he has no choice but to get the cash. Skint Nick enlists the help of his best mate, Bing (Danny Dyer), and the boys set off on a frantic road trip against the clock. From the streets of East London to the underground drug scene of rural Manchester, the lads try every trick and scam in the book to get the cash before it’s too late.

Right up my street. Brilliant.

Tamer HassanTamer made the whole thing sound excellent and I imagine it will be. The way he speaks about Danny is lovely – they’re clearly the best of mates of screen as well as on, so if you liked The Business anywhere near as much as I did, make sure you’re first in line for Dead Man Running when it hits the big screen.

I have to say it was one of the best nights I’ve had for a long time. A great movie, great hospitality, great company and fabulous cocktails.

The only rubbish bit was the hangover!

x

For further information on any of Tamer Hassans future projects, please get in touch with the gorgeous Camilla Storey at Londinium Media Management. She’s lovely!
~ by This Little Lady on August 21, 2009.

2 Responses to “What a lot of bottom…”

  1. love it!!!! 😉

  2. […] Rats Tickets! OK, so if any of you saw my write up of last weeks City Rats viewing – you might be a little bit interested in […]

Leave a Reply

 
