Meet The Parents…

The time has come.

This afternoon, The Boy and I are flying off to Ireland…to meet his folks.

Considering I don’t even see much of my own parents, this is a pretty big deal for me. I get a bit nervous around proper grown ups. I don’t know what to say. What if they don’t like me? What if I do something wrong and embarrass myself? What if they don’t think I’m good enough for their little soldier?!

It’s The Boys Daddy’s Birthday too, so we’re off out to celebrate. Eeeeek. There’s so much to consider – I mean, what do I even wear? I’m not sure the clothes I go out in in London would be appreciated, so must pack a dress that’s not too tight, or too low, or too short. I must not have too much wine with dinner. I must remember that it is not appropriate to sleep naked in your future in laws house…time to dig out that hospital nightie. And most importantly….I mustn’t tell the boy off for an annoying little foibles – after all he may well have inherited them. That could make me VERY unpopular.

Oooh, I’m scared.

It will be fine though – won’t it?!

Wish me luck!

~ by This Little Lady on August 28, 2009.

7 Responses to “Meet The Parents…”

  1. Good luck, I hope it goes well, Im sure it will! Just be polite and smile a lot 😉 x

  2. oooh! where in Ireland? good luck! don’t worry too much, us Irish folk are very relaxed 🙂

  3. We’re going to Galway – really looking forward to it as love Ireland but not been there before. The funny thing is – they’re not even Irish! But thank you both – I just need to take a few deep breaths and smile!

  4. Don’t talk about how you can milk any animal, even a cat.

    (I’m not weird. Please know that this is from the film of the same name.)

  5. Good luck!

  6. It will be lovely – enjoy!

    Glad you’re feeling brighter xx

Leave a Reply

 
